Wahoos honored at state swim banquet

The Wilton Y Wahoos were recognized for numerous achievements at Connecticut Swimming's annual awards banquet last month at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville. Seventy-three Wahoos were honored for academic achievement and/or Top 16-ranking swims.

Selection of the Top 16 is based upon swimmers who post the 16 fastest times in the state in each age group and individual events during the short-course and long-course seasons.

Wilton-resident Wahoos recognized for Top-16-ranked swims were Emma Babashak, Emily Bukowski, Caroline Crampton, Jackson Dill, Morgan Dill, Robby Giller, Courtney Gilroy, Sophia Hemshot, Brooke Hendee, Rory Hess, Ellen Holmquist, Emma Holmquist, Stephen Holmquist, Anya Iyer, Emma Kauffeld, Maggie Kauffeld, Jake Kealy, Natalie Larsen, Jack Lewis, Julia Lewis, Avery Newcomer, Rita Roberts, Sydni Robinson, Nate Snyder, Will Suchy and Katrina Trentos.

To qualify for Scholar-Athlete, swimmers had to have completed 10th, 11th, and/or 12th grade, earning a minimum 3.5 grade-point average for the entire academic year.

Wilton-resident Wahoos recognized as Connecticut Scholar-Athletes were Emma Holmquist, Stephen Holmquist, Emma Kauffeld, Maggie Kauffeld, Meghan Lafond, Grace Schaller and Will Suchy.

In addition, Emma and Stephen Holmquist qualified for USA Swimming Scholastic All-American. These swimmers had to achieve a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects and achieved a 2015 Winter Junior National Standard time in an event, as well.