Track: Wilton girls win division title

The Wilton High girls indoor track and field team won the FCIAC East Division championship on Saturday at the WHS fieldhouse, edging New Canaan by five points.

The Warriors were led by wins by Elizabeth Healy in the 600 meters (1:48.09), Mary Lynch in the 1000 meters (3:18.97), and Morgan McCormick in the 3200 meters (12:02.25).

Wilton also took first in the 4x375 relay with the team of Ashley Vitarelli, Julia Vitarelli, Healy and Paisley Eagan, in a time of 4:09.31.

Lynch also placed third in the 1600 (5:35.44), while Nina Mellin was third in the 1000 (3:21.09).

The best effort in the field events was in the shot put, where Brady Faria was third (31'8") and Covadonga Perez Palaez was fourth (30'1")..

The Wilton girls finished with 85.5 points, followed by New Canaan (80), Fairfield Warde (76), Fairfield Ludlowe (58.5), Darien (57), McMahon (39), Norwalk (38) and St. Joseph (30).

Several other Warriors had top-six finishes to provide points.

Jillian Lauricella was fifth in the 45 meters (6.66), and Claire Graham placed fifth in the high jump (4'8"). Izzy Meltzer was sixth in the pole vault (6'6").

Finishing second in the 4x225 relay, in a time of 2:16.13, was the team of Julia Vitarelli, Lindsay Groves, Ashley Vitarelli and Eagan.

Wilton was also third in the 1500-meter sprint medley relay with the team of Fox Macallan, Lacey Eller, Emma Westerholm and Carly Sullivan, in 4:20.20.

In the 4x740 relay, the team of Carly Sullivan, Westerholm, McCormick and Fox finished fourth in 10:04.36.

Darien won the East Division title on the boys side with 122 points, followed by McMahon (96), Warde (73), Ludlowe (58), New Canaan (54), Norwalk (43), St. Joseph (18) and Wilton (1).

Wilton's top finish came in the 4x750 relay, as the team of Carsten Langholm, Ryan Moore, Sean Cunningham and Flynn Crowther placed sixth in a time of 9:19.0.