Tom Fujitani named Wilton Sports Person of the Year

The late Tom Fujitani, who left an indelible mark on the town through three decades as head coach of  the Wilton High football team, has been named Wilton’s Sports Person of the Year, the Fairfield County Sports Commission announced last week.

Fujitani, who passed away April 2, will be recognized along with honorees from 15 other communities at the 12th annual Sports Night awards dinner on Monday, Oct. 17, at the Hyatt Regency Greenwich.

In each of the 16 towns, a committee headed by a local town representative of the commission selected a Sports Person of the Year. Each winner was deemed to have had the most positive impact in their sports community from August 2015 to August 2016.

Fujitani served as head coach of the Wilton High football team for 32 years, from 1969 to 2000, and compiled an overall record of 163-147-0.

He guided the Warriors to two state championships and to their only FCIAC title in 1988. During Fujitani’s tenure, Wilton made the state finals four times and the conference finals six times.

Following Fujitani’s departure, Wilton’s home field at Memorial Stadium was officially named Tom Fujitani Field.

Other Sports Persons of the Year honorees this year are:

Bridgeport — University of Bridgeport women's soccer team, NCAA D-II Final Four;

Darien — Darien High football team, undefeated Class LL champions, ranked number-one in the state

Easton — Joel Barlow boys golf team, Division II state champions;

Fairfield — Ludlowe high lacrosse teams, Sticks for Soldiers program;

Greenwich — Adnerys De Jesus, Greenwich High gymnast, won all five5 Class L state titles;

Monroe — Brian Walker, runner who has participated in a road race in all 169 Connecticut towns;

New Canaan — Olivia Hompe and Sarah Mannelly, women's college lacrosse top 25 players

Newtown — Curtis Urbina, youth wrestling coach;

Norwalk — Seiji Hosokawa, Norwalk High boys tennis, State Open champion;

Shelton — Shelton High football team, Class LL state runner-up;

Stamford — Stamford High girls basketball team, Class LL state champions;

Stratford — Tyler Matakevich, Temple football, National D-1 Defensive Player of Year;

Trumbull — Jenna Bike, St. Joseph High girls soccer, National Player of the Year;

Weston — Mark Berkowitz, Weston High athletic director;

Westport — Lucas Hausman, Bowdoin College basketball standout.

With the 16 new honorees, the FCSC has honored a total of 183 local sports persons.

FCSC is a 501c3 non-profit organization that is the one-stop resource for the county's sports community, with a mission of promoting fitness and personal development through sports. The commission, with the exception of the executive director, is an all-volunteer group that gives financial support and its resources back to its communities, primarily focused on the 110,000 school-age youngsters it can reach with its fitness awareness education programs under its Chelsea Cohen Fitness Academy.

For more information concerning tickets and sponsorship opportunities for Sports Night, go here, or call Tom Chiappetta at 203-984-4806.