McCormick, Thompson take top honors at Wilton XC Invitational (video)

Morgan McMormick of Wilton and Drew Thompson of Fairfield Prep were the big winners on Saturday morning at the 28th Wilton XC Invitational cross country races, held at Allen’s Meadow Park in Wilton.

McCormick, a junior, pulled away from a tight pack of four runners with under a quarter mile left in the girls varsity 4000-meter race, winning in a time of 15:09.43. Ivy Walker of Pomperaug was second (15:12.95) and Katelynn Romanchick of Trumbull was third (15:13.42).

Thompson, a junior, established a substantial lead midway through the boys varsity 5000-meter race and cruised to victory in a time of 15:52.22 — beating runner-up Kyle Beaudette of Amity (16:24.72) by 32 seconds. Charlie Taubl of Trumbull was third in 16:31.38.

This year’s cross country invitational drew a combined field of 926 runners in six races. Twenty-seven schools were represented.

In the Girls Varsity race, McCormick dropped her time by 80 seconds over last year’s invitational, when she had finished sixth. She is the first Wilton girl to win the race since Sarah Healy in 2013.

Greenwich was the champion in the girls varsity large school division with 51 points, followed by Wilton (75), Trumbull (79), Amity (89), Shelton (89), New Milford (131), New Canaan (146) and Kennedy (260).

In the girls varsity small school division, the champion was Pomperaug, which swept the top six places in the division and scored 15 points. Guilford was in second (55), followed by New Fairfield (73), Bethel (119), Barlow (132) and Seymour (162).

Sophomore Emily Welch was Wilton’s second finisher, taking 29th overall (large and small schools combined) in a time of 17:03.75, with junior Elizabeth Lynch (30th, 17:04.33) right behind her. Seniors Nina Mellin (34th, 17:14.52) and Elizabeth Healy (39th, 17:24.61) rounded out the Warriors’ scoring.

Completing the Wilton effort were sophomores Carly Sullivan (40th, 17:28.6), Caroline Denneen (45th, 17:51.23), Eliza Snyder (53rd, 18:26.35), Hannah Bracken (68th, 19:02.95) and Julia Morano (70th, 19:13.83).

The combined girls varsity race had 110 finishers.

In the combined Boys Varsity race, Thompson dropped his time from a year ago by 28 seconds. The Trumbull resident had finished fifth at last year’s invitational.

Amity won the boys varsity large school division with 50 points, followed by Fairfield Prep (68), Trumbull (74), Shelton (116), New Canaan (119), Masuk (155), Kennedy (173), Greenwich (195) and Wilton (228).

Pomperaug was the winner in the boys varsity small school division with 39 points, followed by Barlow (48), Guilford (75), Notre Dame West Haven (116), Brunswick (155), Bethel (162), New Fairfield (194), St. Luke’s (217), Seymour (222), Christian Heritage (274) and Greens Farm Academy (279).

The Wilton varsity boys were led by sophomores Connor Drake, who finished 54th overall in a time of 18:35.65. Senior Sean Cunningham was the team’s second finisher, placing 74th in 19:00.98. He was followed by junior Luke Maloney (78th, 19:08.52) and sophomores Flynn Crowther (84th, 19:20.54) and Tyler Zengo (108th, 20:11.36) to complete the Warriors’ top five.

Rounding out the finishers for Wilton were junior Jonah Hirsch (116th, 20:33.84), sophomore Ben Grass (125th, 20:56.13) and juniors Richard Dineen (144th, 21:38.16) and Jason Cai (148th, 23:03.65).

The boys varsity race had 153 finishers.

For complete race results, go here.

The morning’s biggest race was the Boys JV , with 247 finishers.

Paul Jones of Woodland Regional won the 5000-meter race in a time of 18:00.18, with Trumbull taking the team title.

John Caty, a sophomore, led Wilton by finishing 94th in a time of 21:17.86.

The Girls JV race had a field of 190 finishers. Nicole Middendorf of Pomperaug won the 4K race in a time of 17:05.05. Darien won the team title, taking six of the top 14 places.

The Wilton girls were led by sophomores Ashleigh Hawthorne (ninth, 18:28.9) and Caleigh McMorris (10th, 18:30.04).

In the Girls Freshman race, Alessandra Zaffina of Trumbull was the winner, finishing the 2500-meter course in a time of 9:29.23. Darien won the team title, taking five of the top 15 spots. The rae had 69 finishers.

The Wilton freshman girls were led by a seventh-place finish by Paula Perez Pelaez (10:10.22).

The Boys Freshman race featured 157 finishers, with Trey Generali of Trumbull taking first place in a time of 8:00.91 for the 2500-meter course. Trumbull won the team title, taking six of the top 14 places.

Ben Leung led the Warriors, finishing fifth in a time of 8:31.93.