Wilton Wahoo swimmers recognized at state banquet

Wilton Y Wahoo swim team members were recognized for numerous achievements at Connecticut Swimming's annual awards banquet Nov. 2.

Some 87 Wahoos were honored for academic achievement and/or Top 16-ranking swims.

Selection of the Top 16 is awarded to swimmers who post the 16 fastest times in the state in each age group during the short-course and long-course seasons.

Scholar-athletes have completed either 10th, 11th or 12th grade, earning a minimum 3.5 grade-point average.

“There’s no doubt that our swimmers exemplify what these awards represent,” said Wilton Family YMCA Executive Director Bob McDowell. “This honor is richly deserved and speaks not only to their strength as swimmers, but also as students and teammates.”

Wilton-resident Wahoos recognized for Top-16-ranked swims were: Emma Babashak, Morgan Dill, Angela Cui, Robbie Giller, Courtney Gilroy, Brooke Hendee, Rory Hess, Sean Higgins, Emma Holmquist, Stephen Holmquist, Juliana Hume, Emma Kauffeld, Maggie Kauffeld, Jake Kealy, Tommy Kealy, Natalie Larsen, Julia Lewis, Jack Lewis, Taylor Loud, Bobby McDowell, Stephanie Moriarty, Avery Newcomer, Richard Nolan, Maddie Pennino, Will Suchy, and Katrina Trentos.

Wilton-resident Wahoos recognized as Scholar-Athletes were: Courtney Gilroy, Emma Holmquist, Stephen Holmquist, Maggie Kauffeld, and Megan Lafond.