Farrell wins third straight state singles title (updated)

For the third consecutive year, Wilton’s Noah Farrell went into the Class L boys tennis state tournament as the number-one seeded singles player.

And for the third consecutive year, Farrell emerged as a state champion.

Farrell, a junior at Wilton High, defeated third-seed Ted Berkowitz of East Lyme, 6-0, 6-2, in the finals on Saturday at Amity High School in Woodbridge to complete his three-peat.

Farrell’s triumph helped Wilton tie Darien for fifth place in the Class L team standings with 16 points.

“Since I won it the past two years I've always had a target on my back, and there is a lot pressure for me to win,” said Farrell.

Fortunately for Farrell, Fairfield Warde junior Ted Berkowitz and Daniel Hand junior Scott Rubinstein narrowly missed that target once again.

In 2011 and 2012, Farrell defeated Rubinstein in the Class L singles final by scores of 6-3, 7-6 (7-4) and 7-6 (7-3), 6-0, respectively. Farrell defeated Berkowitz in the 2011 semifinals by a score of 6-1, 6-4 before beating the Warde player in the finals this year.

“It's always nice to win an individual state title because it shows that all the hard work I put in the off-season has paid off,” said Farrell.

In order to get his three-peat, Farrell needed a strong semifinal comeback. After dropping the first set 2-6 to Fairfield Ludlowe sophomore Jack Meyer, Farrell stormed back, winning the final two sets, 6-0 and 6-4.

Farrell is already looking ahead to next season, but more from a team perspective.

“I think that next year Wilton will be one of the strongest teams in the FCIAC and will be contending for a state title,” he said. “We have a great group of guys returning and I can’t wait for next year.”

For now, he’ll have to make room on his mantle for yet another medal.

Notes: Wilton’s doubles team of Alex Lord and Jordan Lord reached the third round before losing to top seeds William Burger and Devin McVeigh of New Canaan, 7-5, 6-3.

Singles players Ian Erickson, Conner King and Ned Culnane all lost in the second round, as did the doubles team of Eric Li and Isagani Palacepec.