Primary elections are Aug. 14

Tuesday, Aug. 14, is the day of Connecticut’s Democratic and Republican primary elections, during which Wilton voters registered with one of the two major parties will have the opportunity to vote for their party’s 2018 election candidates.

Wilton voters who are registered with a major party, are United States citizens and will be at least 18 years old by Nov. 6 are eligible to vote at their designated polling places from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. the day of the primaries.

Wilton’s three polling places — one for each voting district — are:

District 1: Wilton High School, 395 Danbury Road.

District 2: Cider Mill School gym, 240 School Road.

District 3: Middlebrook School cafeteria, 131 School Road.*

A voter look-up service and a map of Wilton’s district division can be accessed from

Connecticut has a closed primary system, which means only registered members of the Democratic and Republican parties may vote in their respective party’s primary.

When it’s time to vote, voters may only choose one candidate for each office on the ballot. There is no write-in voting at primaries.


Seven candidates — five Republicans and two Democrats — are vying to succeed Democrat Dannel Malloy as governor of Connecticut.

The gubernatorial candidates on the Democratic primary ballot are Ned Lamont and Joe Ganim, while the candidates on the Republican ballot are Mark Boughton, Timothy Herbst, Steve Obsitnik, Bob Stefanowski, and David Stemerman.

Lieutenant governor

Three Republicans and two Democrats are seeking to succeed Democrat Nancy Wyman as Connecticut’s lieutenant governor.

Joe Markley, Jayme Stevenson, and Erin Stewart are running to be the Republican candidate for lieutenant governor, while Susan Bysiewicz and Eva Bermudez-Zimmerman are running to be the Democratic candidate.


Four candidates — two Democrats and two Republicans — are seeking Denise Nappier’s office as Connecticut’s treasurer.

Shawn Wooden and Dita Bhargava will appear on the Democratic primary ballot, while Thad Gray and Art Linares will appear on the Republican ballot.

Attorney general

George Jepsen announced in November 2017 that he would not be seeking reelection as Connecticut’s attorney general, and there are now five candidates vying for the seat.

William Tong, Paul Doyle and Chris Mattei are seeking the Democratic nomination for attorney general, while Sue Hatfield and John Shaban are seeking the Republican nomination.


Republicans Kurt Miller and Mark Greenberg are seeking their party’s nomination for comptroller. The winner will run against incumbent comptroller, Democrat Kevin Lembo, in the November election.

U.S. senator

Matthew Corey and Dominic Rapini are seeking the Republican nomination for U.S. senator, and the winner will run against incumbent U.S. Sen. Chris Murphy, a Democrat,in November.

Probate judge

Doug Stern and Darnell D. Crosland are seeking the Democratic nomination for probate judge of the Norwalk-Wilton district.

Lawrence Cafero is the sole Republican probate judge candidate and therefore will not appear on the Republican primary ballot.

The Norwalk-Wilton probate judge seat is currently held by Republican Anthony DePanfilis, who is not running for re-election.


Absentee ballots were made available in the town clerk’s office at town hall July 24. They must be received in the town clerk’s office no later than 4:30 p.m. on Aug. 14.

Sample Republican and Democratic primary ballots for Wilton are available on the Registrar of Voters page under the “Departments/Services” tab on the town’s website,

*Concerned that the hot and humid weather expected to continue next week could adversely affect the health, safety and comfort of election workers and voters, Wilton's registrars of voters have received permission from the secretary of the state to change the District 3 polling place from the un-air conditioned Middlebrook School gym to the air-conditioned Middlebrook School cafeteria. Voters may park in the rear parking lot, enter through the doors under the canopy and turn right after entering to reach the cafeteria.