Letter: Library gala a success thanks to many

To the Editors:

This year, we were especially pleased to have honored Carol and Bob Russell, honorary trustees of Wilton Library. The library has been a beneficiary of their support over many years in multiple ways. From serving on the board of trustees, to their active involvement with the library book sales to their support of the capital campaign for the new building, we were delighted to recognize this couple who has probably done more to honor and preserve Wilton’s history more than anyone else in town.

Funds raised benefit the community by sustaining the library’s collections, programs, technology and services. Events such as this are crucial to the library’s mission. Twenty-five percent of the library’s budget has to be raised each year through essential fund-raising efforts. It is with these resources that 100% of the books, DVDs, CDs and digital services can be purchased and stocked on the shelves for patrons to borrow or download. Our thanks go out to everyone — neighbors, friends and local businesses — for helping Wilton Library continue as the center for discovery and life learning in the heart of our community.

From start to finish, the committee was amazingly dedicated, creative and filled with enthusiasm. Thanks to our co-chairs, Kristin Johnson and Carrie Preisano, who were incredible, sharing their excitement and vision, bringing together an extraordinary team of volunteers! We are immensely grateful to the committee for all of their wonderful work in supporting the Wilton Library. We could not have done it without their help and support.

Many thanks to our sponsors: The Amadeo Family; Dorie & Nick Davatzes; Fairfield County Bank; Lynne & Paul Vanderslice; Wilton Historical Society; General Electric Company; Gregory and Adams, PC; Hurlbutt Street Schoolhouse and media sponsors Wilton Magazine and Good Morning Wilton. 2018 Spring Benefit Committee: Co-Chairs Kristin Johnson & Carrie Preisano; Lianne Acosta-Rua; Kathy Dhanda; Teresa DiLorenzo-Waldron; Summer Downey; Suzi Eckert; Margret Greene; Kathryn Groves, Betsy Huffman; Tamara Kalin; Michele Klink; Pam Nobumoto; Kristy Ripp; Elizabeth Walsh and Tami Weigold. And all the many local businesses who donated to our event, the wonderful staff of the Wilton Library and our Board of Trustees!
Elaine Tai-Lauria
Executive Director
Robin Axness
Development Director
Wilton Library Association
Wilton, March 23