The Board of Education, during its Oct. 13 meeting, unanimously approved next year’s school calendar, as well as criteria for the Wilton Public Schools Hall of Fame.

According to the 2017-18 calendar, the first day of school next year will be Tuesday, Sept. 5, and the last day will be Thursday, June 14.

Thanksgiving recess will be Thursday, Nov. 23, and Friday, Nov. 24, and winter recess will take place Monday, Dec. 25, through Friday, Dec. 29. There will also be no school on New Year’s Day, Jan. 1.

Students will have Friday, Feb. 16, off for February recess, and no school Monday, Feb. 19, for Presidents’ Day.

Spring recess will be Monday, April 9, through Friday, April 13, and students will have no school on Memorial Day, which falls on Monday, May 28, next year.

Click here to learn more about the 2017-18 school calendar.

Hall of fame


The hall of fame in the glass hallway between the Zellner Gallery and Clune Center is a place to honor teachers, students and staff members “who have in some way achieved notoriety in their chosen area of expertise” and “distinguished themselves in ways that have brought great honor and pride to our community,” according to newly-adopted policy.

Wilton High School band director Frank “Chip” Gawle became the first hall of fame inductee in June. Like Gawle, hall of fame inductees will include those who have “attained national recognition, or in some way been recognized by their peers for outstanding achievement.”

The board also adopted a Service with Distinction Award program for those who have never received “the national recognition or notoriety of Hall of Fame inductees” but are “nevertheless heroes and deserving of recognition.”

Upon members’ request during the board’s Sept. 22 meeting, like Hall of Fame inductees, Service with Distinction awardees will be honored with a plaque in the hall of fame.

Click here to learn more about the policy.