Wilton Model Congress strikes gold

The Wilton High School Model Congress struck gold at Yale University’s 2018 Model Congress, where eight of Wilton’s students were recognized for their distinguished performance in committee sessions.

The collegiate conference on Nov. 29 and Dec. 2 hosted more than 750 students from public and private high schools across the Northeast.

Vignesh Subramanian and Elizabeth Yoon received Best Legislation Awards for having the best-written bills in their committees. Vignesh was on the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee, and Elizabeth was on the House Energy and Commerce Committee.

Neil Satsangi and Tony Wilcox received Best Legislation Awards for their work on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and Senate Ethics Committee, respectively.

The following Wilton students received Honorable Mention Awards:

  • Christian Anastos (Senate Judiciary Committee).

  • Purab Angreji (Senate Commerce and Transport Committee).

  • Sadie Kinnersley (Senate Foreign Relations Committee).

  • Rishabh Raniwala (House Foreign Affairs Committee).

Model Congress is a club at Wilton High School, advised by history teacher Kenneth Dunaj, that provides students the opportunity to simulate the U.S. Congress’s legislative process, using parliamentary procedure and civic awareness to draft mock solutions for the nation’s issues. It also allows its members to apply what they have learned in their academic classes.