Merit Scholarship Program commends 18 Wilton seniors

The following 18 Wilton High School seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program:

  • Isabel Bouvier.

  • Erin Bronner.

  • Scott Brown.

  • Ryan Carlson.

  • Adrienne Coslick.

  • Ian Filaski.

  • Vedika Karandikar.

  • Elizabeth Kenneally.

  • Victoria Koenigsberger.

  • Haley MacDonald.

  • Ryan Purdy.

  • Alison Purvis.

  • Randolph Ramirez.

  • Grace Schaller.

  • Alida Schefers.

  • Ravi Siripuram.

  • Jackson Walker.

  • Rachel Waters.

These Commended Students placed among the top 5% of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied index score that “may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named semifinalists in their respective states,” according to the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Although they do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some Commended Students do become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Earlier this month, Wilton High School seniors Elizabeth Healy, William Heffernan, Nicholas Johnson, Nickia Muraskin, Stephanie Xie and Brandon Zheng were named National Merit Semifinalists.

To learn more, visit