What Wilton voters need to know for the Nov. 8 election

Photo of J.D. Freda
File photo of Wilton residents voting at Wilton High School. Hour photo / Erik Trautmann

File photo of Wilton residents voting at Wilton High School.

Hour photo / Erik Trautmann

WILTON —  With Election Day rapidly approaching, here is what Wilton residents need to know to vote on Nov. 8.

Polling Locations

Wilton will have three polling locations. Voters can visit the registrar of voters website to look up their exact polling place by entering their address.

Voters who live in the northern part of town will vote at Wilton High School, 395 Danbury Road; those in the eastern part will vote at the Middlebrook School Gym, 131 School Road; and residents in the western part will vote in the Cider Mill School gym, 240 School Road.

All polling locations are open 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Who is on the ballot?

Wilton residents will vote on 10 races.

Voters will decide from incumbent Gov. Ned Lamont and Lieutenant Governor Susan Bysiewicz on the Democratic and Working Families party lines, Republicans Bob Stefanowski and Laura Devlin, or Independent candidates Robert Hotaling and Stewart Beckett.

Voters will be able to vote between incumbent Richard Blumenthal, a Democrat, and Republican Leora Levy for U.S. senator.

Incumbent Jim Himes, a Democrat, will face off with former Darien First Selectwoman Jayme Stevenson, who will run on the Republican and Independent Party lines for the U.S. House District 4.

Former state Sen. Toni Boucher, running on the Republican and Independent Party lines, will look to gain her seat back against Democrat Ceci Maher. Democrat Will Haskell, the current state senator for the district, is not running.

Wilton Selectwoman Kim Healy, a Republican, and Democrat Keith Denning will be vying for the state's 42nd Assembly District, which is now in the part of the state due to redistricting.

Residents will also be able to vote between Stephanie Thomas, Dominic Rapini and Cynthia Jennings for secretary of the state; Erick Russell, Harry Arora, Jennifer Baldwin and JoAnna Laiscell for treasurer; Sean Scanlon and Mary Fay for state comptroller; and William Toon, Jessica Kordas, A.P. Pascarella and Ken Krayeske for Connecticut's attorney general.

Douglas Stern is running unopposed for probate judge.

Early voting

Residents will also be able to vote yes or no to the question, "Shall the Constitution of the State be amended to permit the General Assembly to provide for early voting?"

Connecticut doesn't currently permit in-person, early voting under the state's constitution. If approved, this amendment will allow the General Assembly to pass laws to establish in-person voting before election day, according to information from the state.