Wilton Land Conservation Trust Board elects new officers

At a meeting of the Wilton Land Conservation Trust Board of Trustees Feb. 12, the trustees elected new officers for a one year term. They are: Steve White, its president, Craig Johnson and Roger Valkenburgh, its vice presidents, Michael Foster, its treasurer and Mark Rice, its secretary.

“The outgoing president, Peter Gaboriault, led the organization through a period of significant growth over the last six years,” the organization said in a statement. “Peter was instrumental in the acquisition and preservation of the 13-acre meadow at 183 Ridgefield Road and the construction of the small antique barn presently underway at 183. The WLCT membership was expanded during Peter's tenure, and the first Executive Director for the organization was hired. We thank Peter for all his efforts to make the Land Trust one of the leading organizations in Wilton,” the organization also said.

The organization’s annual meeting will be held remotely Feb. 24. In addition to the election of Trustees for a four year term commencing at the meeting and the conduct of customary business, the organization’s new Executive Director, David McCarthy, will present an overview of objectives for the coming year.

The organization was established in 1964 by a small group of citizens seeking to preserve the town’s beautiful open spaces. It is a private, nonprofit 501c3 organization, that is entirely owned by its over 350 members, and funded by those members, and the generous support of the community. Today, the organization oversees more than 110 properties totaling more than 830 acres of open space.

For more information about the organization visit its website at: wiltonlandtrust.org, contact the organization’s Executive Director, David McCarthy at david@wiltonlandtrust.org or call (800) 983-3552.