Three are honored at library meeting


Melissa Baker was named employee of the year and Lila Griswold and Janet Zuckerman were named volunteers of the year at the Wilton Library Association annual meeting on Sunday, June 9.

The meeting also recognized the board of trustees, retiring members, and officers for 2013-2014.

Ms. Griswold and Ms. Zuckerman, along with Pat Gould, who was volunteer of the year in 2009, are chairs of the library’s annual book sale.

They were recognized for their efforts to make the Gigantic Book Sale in April a “tremendous success” for the library. Additionally, their work benefits the library during the Holiday Book Sale in December, the Children’s Book Sale in September, the Summer Sidewalk Sale, which is July 20 this year, and the ongoing sale in the gallery of the library.

Of Ms. Baker, library Director Elaine Tai-Lauria had the following to say:

“When an organization is fortunate to have a staff of dedicated high performers, it is difficult to identify a star among stars.

“There were a number of stars that were particularly brilliant this year; however, one was a shooting star, and that meteor was Melissa Baker.

“Because of her diligent investigations, she enabled us to keep pace with emerging media technologies, thereby offering Wilton residents some of the latest in digital resources.

“Melissa championed the reintroduction of our downloadable book service, Overdrive™. In April, we also launched Zinio, a fantastic online magazine service that allows patrons to read issues cover-to-cover on their mobile devices or computers.

“Melissa’s next venture into digital media was streaming video and music. Shortly, we will introduce IndieFlix, which features streaming independent films. And this fall, we hope to launch a streaming classical music service. Under her guidance, we are constantly striving to provide Wilton with great services that suit the needs and interests of all ages.

“Melissa is, and has always been, well regarded by patrons and colleagues alike. She is truly one of the most pleasant persons to be around. Her work is always thorough and she will always deliver a quality product. She is indeed the consummate library professional.”


The officers for the coming year are: Michael Kaelin, president; Ann Duffy, vice president; Whitney Janeway, secretary; Robert Kelso, treasurer.

Retiring members Holly Sexton and Dan Mahoney were recognized by Mr. Kaelin.

The nominated trustees for the “Class of 2016” were: Jeff Barbour, Gary Battaglia, Ann Duffy, Maureen Locke, Catherine Romer, Karen Sackowitz, Priscilla Thors and Diane Wilson.

Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Matt Davies spoke about his love of libraries, his first foray into writing a children’s book, Ben Rides On, and showed examples of cartoons from his body of work.