Library marks 120th year at annual meeting

Wilton Library began its 120th year of existence this spring and the celebration will continue all year long, starting with the annual meeting set for Sunday, June 14, from 4 to 5:30. The business portion of the meeting will cover the election of officers and new trustees, the acknowledgment of retiring board members, and the presentation of awards to outstanding Volunteer of the Year and Staff Member of the Year. Following the meeting, Maureen Sullivan, former president of the American Library Association, will be the guest speaker.
This year’s nominated slate of officers includes returning members Ann Duffy, president, Ileanna Barns-Slavin, secretary, and Robert Kelso, treasurer.  Diane Wilson, a current trustee, is being nominated for vice president, replacing Glenn Hemmerle, who is retiring from the board. Retiring board members are honored with books that will be placed in the collection with a nameplate acknowledging their service to the library.
After the business portion of the meeting, Ms. Sullivan, a prominent leader and educator in the library profession, will speak about the role of libraries and their importance to the communities they support.
Her talk will be followed by a short reception. The annual meeting and reception are open to the public. Registration is encouraged. Visit and click on Events or call 203-762-3950, ext. 239.