Frivolity reigns

With a lopsided 21-0 victory, Wilton’s Republican Town Committee laid claim to the Frivolity Bowl trophy — a tin bucket — in its game Tuesday over the Democratic Town Committee. The match-up is a staple of the Fourth of July festivities.
The Republicans took an insurmountable lead in the first inning with 16 runs, according to chairman Al Alper. Under Coach Joe Favarolo, team members included Ralph Sanna, Chris Perry, Thomas Viggiano, Joshua Cole, James Longo, Mark Keeney, Matt Keeney, Matt McMahon, Chris Alexander and Fred Heibeck.
Second Selectman Michael Kaelin, who is unaffiliated, umpired the game.