Bruce Hampson honored for energy work


At Bruce Hampson’s testimonial dinner, state Rep. Gail Lavielle (R-143) brandishes a citation issued to Hampson by the Conn. General Assembly. From left, Sen. Toni Boucher (R-26), Hampson, and Lavielle at Cactus Rose in Wilton. — Hayden Turek photo


On Dec. 14, town officials met at Cactus Rose in Wilton, where they sat down to a testimonial dinner in honor of Bruce Hampson, the resident who founded the town Energy Commission in 2007 and chaired it until his term expired this year.

Following remarks from guests and preceding a speech by the man of the hour, an official citation from the State of Connecticut General Assembly was read by state Rep. Gail Lavielle (R-143), and an official proclamation by Gov. Dannel Malloy was read by Sen. Toni Boucher (R-26).

“Be it known to all,” the citation began, “that The Connecticut General Assembly hereby offers its sincerest congratulations to Bruce E. Hampson in recognition of your commitment to the environment as demonstrated by your excellent work with the Town of Wilton, as you honor and serve your Community in all that you do.

“We wish to congratulate you on the success of your efforts and express our gratitude. We extend our best wishes to you in all of your future endeavors,” read Lavielle.

Malloy’s proclamation “is a testament to your demonstrated commitment to your community, the Town of Wilton, and the State of Connecticut. Over the course of your notable career, you have played a crucial role in the governance of various boards, commissions and councils,” Boucher read.

“Your leadership as the Chair and founding member of the Wilton Energy Commission, Vice Chair of the Wilton Council for Public Facilities, and Wilton Democratic Town Committee 2015 Citizen of the Year has had a lasting impact that will benefit the community for years to come.

“The important work you have done to advance green initiatives within Connecticut is a testament to your outstanding character. I applaud your many accomplishments and wish you continued success in your future endeavors.”

On Nov. 30, Debra Thompson-Van and Richard Creeth replaced Hampson as co-chairs of the Energy Commission.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Wilton Bulletin, 16 Bailey Avenue, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress